Wednesday, February 21, 2007

GMA Dove Awards Nominations Announced

Nominations were announced yesterday for the 38th Annual GMA Dove Awards by the Gospel Music Association (GMA).
While newcomers led the field alongside established artists, several producers and songwriters also earned multiple nominations. The Dove Awards is Christian/Gospel music’s biggest night of the year, where top artists from every style of gospel music come together for a night of music and celebration as the GMA bestows the industry’s highest honour - the Dove Award.
This year’s nominations were announced at the Renaissance Nashville Hotel by Flow RecordsJuanita Bynum, Reunion RecordsBrian Littrell and comedian Thor Ramsey. Dove awards will be handed out on 25 April, 2007 at the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville.
2006’s Dove Award Artist of the Year Chris Tomlin once again leads the field of artists with nine nominations as Jars of Clay makes a return with six nods. Southern gospel artists The Crabb Family earns five nominations, while newcomers Aaron Shust and Leeland each garnered five nominations. Other multiple nominees include Casting Crowns, Stellar Kart, and Israel Houghton with four nominations each.
It’s always fascinating to see which artists GMA members believe to be the best in Christian/Gospel music,” said John W. Styll, president and CEO of the GMA.
“This year, like in others, established artists like Chris Tomlin, Jars of Clay and The Crabb Family have been recognised for their continued excellence while Aaron Shust, Leeland and Stellar Kart reflect a new wave of vibrant young artists beginning to make their impact in the gospel music community. ‘Vibrant’ and ‘excellent’ are also great descriptions for what promises to be an engaging, entertaining and inspiring Dove Awards show, filled with performances that will reflect all the great diversity that is gospel and Christian music.”

Top nominees Tomlin and Jars of Clay are up for Artist of the Year along with The Crabb Family, Stellar Kart, Casting Crowns, TobyMac and Third Day, with ties in voting yielding seven nominees in this category instead of the usual five. Leeland and Shust are joined by DecembeRadio, Pocket Full Of Rocks and Ayiesha Woods in the New Artist of the Year category. Group of the Year nomination honours go to BarlowGirl, Casting Crowns, David Crowder Band, Jars of Clay and MercyMe.
Dove Awards will be handed out in 43 categories, one more than in previous years as Christmas Album of the Year was added as a new category for 2007. The Songwriter of the Year nominees were not announced yesterday, but will be revealed prior to the GMA Dove Awards. Dove Awards nominations go to recordings released during the eligibility year 1 November, 2005 through 31 October, 2006 and voted on by the members of the GMA.